About Us

Anderson Counseling Services is a community counseling center that offers support for children, adolescents, and adults throughout Virginia.  Our mission here at Anderson is to help individuals and families achieve vibrant, healthy relationships through using their personal strengths. We believe all people have a natural desire to be a productive part of a community. At times individuals need assistance from competent counselors to transition from emotional and mental illness into finding renewed, meaning and purpose. The overall agency goal is to promote optimal mental health and functioning throughout the entire community. 

Our Philosophy

Anderson Counseling Services was founded on the concept of individuals possess the answers to their own problems. However, when discord arises, without the proper conflict resolution skills, individuals can become deterred and enter into a habit of unhealthy communication. Individuals in conflict need to be heard by others who view them as people and not necessarily see them as patients. Anderson provides coaching to individuals, who recognize their need for proper development of skills that will serve in helping the individual exceed their goals. We believe that the family spirit can be renewed through helping them commit to the team concept, which will clearly define their purpose, roles, and responsibilities. Anderson’s staff does this by implementing a strength-based approach, which utilizes Cognitive-Behavioral techniques to promote rational thought, Positive Psychology perspectives to assist with the development of self-esteem, Person-Centered therapy to develop insight, Solution-Focused approaches to enhance incremental planning, Reality therapy to encourage responsibility for outcomes, and Motivational Interviewing to initiate the stages of change. By implementing these interventions Anderson meets its end-goal of the uniting of most powerful team ever...The Family.


Associates & Staff

Mike Anderson, LPC, ACS, LMHP
Agency Director

Mike@andersonva.com

 

Brian Clemmons .jpg

     Brian Clemmons, MA, LPC, LCS                         Clinical Supervisor                 Community Based Services     Brian@andersonva.com

Taylor Hiers, MA, LMHP-R
Clinical Services Manager & Clinical Coordinator for TDT Services
Taylor@andersonva.com

Steven Smith, BS, QMHP
Site Administrator
Anderson Transition Center
Steven@andersonva.com


Matrice Anderson
Business Compliance Manager
Matrice@andersonva.com

Jajuan Thomas
Practice Administrator
Jajuan@andersonva.com

Tina Paige, BS, QMHP
Lead Site Supervisor
William M. Bass Elementary School
Tina@andersonva.com

Daryl Robertson, MA, QMHP
Site Supervisor
         E.C. Glass            Daryl@andersonva.com

Courtney Ferguson, MA, QMHP
Site Supervisor
Heritage High School
Courtney@andersonva.com

Katie Hudson, BS, QMHP
Site Supervisor
Linkhorne Middle School Katie@andersonva.com

Bekah Jarman, MA, LMHP-R
Site Supervisor
Dunbar Middle School
Rebekah@andersonva.com

Ashlie Manuel, MA, LMHP-R
Site Supervisor
Empowerment Academy
Ashlie@andersonva.com

Regina Alexander, MS, QMHP
Site Supervisor
Sandusky Middle School
Regina@andersonva.com

Kelly Phelps, BS, QMHP
Site Supervisor
Bedford Hills Elementary School

Crystal Garland, MA, QMHP
                   Site Supervisor                          Anderson Transition Center       Crystal@andersonva.com

 

If you cannot reach us please call 434-239-2004